The vocation of the International Scientific Tourism Network is to favour initiatives that innovate in recreational and tourist practices by linking territorial resources and scientific and academic activities. It brings together members and actors from the fields of university education, scientific research and tourism management. During the founding meeting from 13 to 14 September 2018, in Le Pradel, Campus of the University Grenoble Alpes in Ardèche (France), the participants of the ISTN declare that they want to strengthen the concept of Scientific Tourism by sharing experiences and offering conceptual support, tools and working methods for its proper .


The members of the network seek to promote participatory research and citizen science, strengthen spaces for social inclusion in research projects and improve the dissemination of scientific results relevant to tourist areas.


An application for membership is made by sending an email and obtaining the sponsorship of an active member of the network. One can be a member without having an initiative in diffusion on the website but must prove to have been part of or to continue to be working in a scientific tourism initiative. The applying member must send a brief personal curriculum, indicating their specialization, title and affiliation to an institution (it can be as a partner of a larger initiative or by providing an adequate certificate) and a brief explanation of the project they are carrying out. The request for incorporation is done by an active member of the network and must be validated by two directors of the scientific comity. The membership fee is 30US per year. We are at your disposal for any further questions.

Centro de Investigación en Ecosistemas de la Patagonia:

Unidad de Turismo Científico – Coyhaique, Chile.
Fabien Bourlon – Researcher

Centro de Investigación en Ecosistemas de la Patagonia

Universidad Austral de Chile:

Facultad de Ciencias Económicas y Administrativas
Instituto de Turismo UACH – Valdivia, Chile.
Pablo Szmulewicz – Director, Researcher and Professor

Facultad de Ciencias Económicas y Administrativas

Universidad de Grenoble:

Institut d’Urbanisme et de Geographie Alpine
– CERMOSEM & UMR PACTE – Ardèche, Francia.
Pascal Mao – Director, Researcher and Professor


Universidad Caxias do Sul :

UCS HOSPITALIDADE – Caxias do Sul, Brasil
Michel Bregolin – Researcher and Professor

PPGTURH – Mestrado e Doutorado em Turismo e Hospitalidade

Université de Québec Trois Rivière :

Université de Québec Trois Rivière – Département d’études en loisir, culture et tourisme
Trois Rivières, Canada.
François De Grandpré Tourism researcher


Institut de Formation, de Recherche et d’Expertise sur les Milieux Souterrains Ardèche, France.
 Christophe Vigne – Project Director

Polytechnic Institute of Tomar
Tomar, Portugal.
Sergio Leal Nuñes – Researcher in Tourism

Centre de Recheches de Ecosystèmes d’Altitude,  CREA – Observatoire du Mont-Blanc
Chamonix, France.
Anne Delestrade y Irene Alvare – Researchers and project coordinators

Universidad Nacional Agraria La Molina – Maestría de Ecoturismo
Lima, Perú.
Maria Luisa Rendon – Researcher and Professor

Corporación Privada
para el
Desarrollo de Aysén,
Patricio Segura

Universidad de Grenoble, Labex Item – RefLab
Grenoble, France.
Mélanie Marcuzzi –Project Coordinator.

Tecnológico de Estudios Superiores
Valle de Bravo, Mexico.
José Antonio de la Cruz Hernández – Professor and Researcher.

Université de Grenoble Alpes, Jardins du Lautaret
Col du Lautaret, France.
Jean Gabriel Valay – Director of Research Center.

Museo Regional de Aysén – Proyecto Rutas de Museos
Coyhaique, Chile.
Gustavo Saldivia – Director.

Centros de Estudios en Turismo Alternativo de la Patagonia CETAP – Coyhaique, Chile.
Gabriel Inostroza – Researcher.

Universidade de Algarve – ESGHT / UALG
Algarve, Portugal.
Claudia Henriques – Researcher and Professor.

La Croisée des Routes – France- Indonésie
Strasbourg, France.
Franck Michel – Director, Researcher, Writer.

Instituto de Ciencias de la Tierra - Universidad Austral de ChileInstituto de Ciencias de la Tierra – Universidad Austral de Chile
Valdivia, Chile.
Adriano Rovira –Director and Researcher.

Fundación Aysén Mira el Mar
Fundación Aysén Mira el Mar

Coyhaique, Chile.
Jacqueline Boldt, Director.

Centro de Estudios Avanzados en Zonas Áridas
Programa de Ciencia y Turismo
Centro de Estudios Avanzados en Zonas Áridas CEAZA
Claudia Hernández
Scientific Dissemination Officer
Science and Tourism Programme